The 3rd Annual Veterans Awards

Table of Contents

  1. Honored Guests and Presenters
  2. Schedule of Ceremony
  3. Special thanks to our esteemed sponsors
  4. About the Vetty Statuette
  5. Board of Governors
  6. Learn more about AUSV

Silent Auction | Cabinet Room

VIP Cocktail Reception | East Room

Dinner & Ceremony | Main Ballroom & Chinese Ballroom

Honored Guests and Presenters

Academy of United States Veterans is humbled to have such talented and influential members of the entertainment industry and the veterans community team with us for the Vettys. Our mission is impossible without the help of compassionate individuals like our honored guests who have dedicated the use of their platform for social improvement. Learn more about each presenter at this page.

Celebrity Presenters

  • Shohreh Aghdashloo
  • Montel Williams
  • Anne Heche
  • Mike Vogel
  • Sofia Pernas
  • Nate Boyer
  • Matt Barr

Veteran Presenters

  • Eli Crane
  • Mark L. Rockefeller
  • Colton Smith
  • Matt James
  • Travis McVey
  • CPT Sam Kriegler


  • Presentation of the colors and the National Anthem | The Army Old Guard
  • Welcome to Washington | Honored guest, Secretary of Veterans Affairs David J. Shulkin
  • Opening remarks | Host, CNN's Jake Tapper
  • Introduction to the voting process | Chairman of the Board of Governors, H.W. Prescott Floyd
  • Announcement of new Chairman of Board of Governors for 4th Annual Veterans Awards
  • Presentation | Disabled American Veterans
  • Employment Award | presented by 
  • Honorary Vetty | presented by
  • Mental Health Award | presented by
  • Presentation | Coalition to Salute America's Heroes
  • Community Award | presented by 
  • Remarks from Assal Ravandi, CEO and Founder of AUSV
  • Keynote speech | Sherman Gillums, Jr., former executive director of PVA and current Chief Strategy Officer of AmVets
  • Honorary Vetty | presented by 
  • Presentation | Paralyzed Veterans of America
  • Veterans Choice Award | presented by Nate Boyer and Eli Crane
  • Education Award | 
  • Leadership Award
  • Letters from our veterans
  • Remarks from Travis McVey, Founder of Heroes Vodka
  • Closing remarks | Host, CNN's Jake Tapper


Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is charged with carefully selecting the Vetty recipients under each category. They are comprised of honorably discharged veterans who have continued to serve their nation through public service following active duty. To learn more about our Board of Governors, visit this page. 

The Vetty Statuette


For the  3rd Annual Veterans Awards, we decided to take the Vetty statuette to the next level. It represents the respect we have for our boots on the ground who have sacrificed so much for our great nation. We hope the statuette itself reflects in its physical form how each year we strive to be better, do better and to give the very best to our beloved veterans community. Learn more about the Vetty here.

We collaborated with Bennett Awards to create the new boot design. They approached the project with enthusiasm and fresh, creative ideas. Located in California, Bennett Awards is a family business that is managed by the husband and wife team of Bob and Alice Bennett. The Bennett family has been in the awards and fine art business for over 40 years. Click here to visit their website.